Awsworth pit club

editorial image
Share this article

The Awsworth and Cossall Pit Football Club won the Nottinghamshire Cup in 1954.

The team was, on the back row left to right, Graham Bradshaw, Ray Slaney, Joe Whitehead, Malc Slaney, Joe Simpson and Ted Beer.

One the front row are Malc Malc Chambers, Barry Rigley, Harry Tudor, Billy Beer and Albert Tudor.

Awsworth reserves won the same cup over 50 years later. R Shaw, J McGuire and L Henson played for the team.

The first winners on the trophy were Nottingham Forest Reserves.