Honour in name of Queen

Queen's Badge winners
Queen's Badge winners

Five long-serving members of the 32nd Nottingham Boys Brigade Company, which is based at Nuthall Methodist Church, have been presented special awards in the name of the Queen.

Jonathan Langford, 19, Joe Wainwright, 19, and Jared Thompson, 19, who all live in Nuthall, George Maloney, 21, from Hempshill Vale, and Matt Williams, 19, from Kimberley, have earned coveted Queen’s Badges and certifcates of merit.

The prestigious awards, one of the highest achievements in the youth movement, were handed over in a ceremony which took place in the Wheeler Suite at Meadow Lane the home of Notts County Football Club.

The Deputy Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire, Colonel David Sneath made the presentation at the East Midlands District event , which brought together other achievers from Boys Brigade companies in Peterborough, Spalding, Oadby and Sutton- in-Ashfield.

The Nuthall Boys Brigade contingent, who joined the 32nd Nottingham Company in the Anchor Boys section from the age of five, have shown dedication, determination and desire in their bid to achieve.

Their proud Captain, Pete Bales, and company section officer in charge, Steve Beckworth, said: “This is a great achievement by five special young men.

“They have been brilliant ambassadors for the Boys Brigade and earning their Queen’s Badges is deserved rewards for their efforts over a long period of time.”

The Queen’s award is presented in recognition of completing a series of challenging sections which are made up of volunteering at Boys Brigade sessions and in the local community, skills, physical, Duke of Edinburgh awards, and coursework.

East Midlands District President Jaime Ellis heaped praise on the Nuthall contingent.

“The Queen’s Badge is a highly sought after prize and is one of the Boys Brigade movement’s highest accolades and is only achieved by dedicated individuals,” Mr Ellis said.

“ Over a long period of time the 32nd Nottingham Company has set the standards and I congratulate everyone who has played a part in its success.”