New councillors in Selston

Share this article

THREE new councillors have been elected on to Selston Parish Council.

The three independent councillors, who won with over 400 votes each, are John Wilson, Annette Kurtis and Julie Parker.

The election took place after three Liberal Democrat councillors failed to show up to meetings and did not sign the Declaration of Office.

Cllr Gail Turner said it was ‘lovely’ to have the new councillors at this week’s Selston Parish Council meeting, but blasted the Lib Dems for forcing the council to spend thousands of pounds.

However leader of the Lib Dem party Jason Zadrozny said the councillors had good reasons.

Austin Rathe moved to London and Fiona and Scott Asbury had an illness in the family, he said.