Firsts win while seconds take title

Langley Mill United second XI
Langley Mill United second XI

With nothing now to play for apart from pride the Millers’ up and down season ended at the weekend when Ockbrook and Borrowash were the visitors and the hosts took maximum points.

Batting first, Ockbrook amassed 263 from their 46 overs with Oliver Mitchell scoring an excellent 152. He and Dave Hallack (78 not out) threaded the top order together and a partnership of 194 put them in the driving seat.

With a large total to chase, they had a change with the order and it almost paid off when the Millers were well up with the run rate.

But the Millers’ wicket column was steadily ticking over. They were all out for 207 in the 36th over. Thimal top scored with 59.

On Sunday, the Millers travelled to Wirksworth and Middleton for the final game. Wirksworth batted first and Daniel Scothern took the early wicket of Barlow.

At the other end, Jeff Wharton bowled his usual economical spell of 14 overs for 27. Poplar (49), Andy Barlow (33) and Whittal (31) were the main run scorers as they posted 173 from their 46 overs. Thimal took 4-43.

In reply, the Millers lost Neil Wing early and then Andrew Bailey with 30 on the board. It was a partnership between the two Daniels (Lacey 34 and Hanson 44) that put the Millers in the driving seat.

Both fell within quick succession to leave the game hanging. Paul Bailey (25 not out) and Wharton (17) saw the Millers home after a very hostile spell of bowling from Shah (3-36).

Langley Mill CC 2nds emulated what the club did when they reformed in 2005 by winning the Division Five title.

The final weekend of the season saw them take the maximum points available and walk away as champions.

On Saturday, the Millers showed the tremendous character that has been ever present during this campaign.

After being bowled out by Denby 3rds for 115, they managed to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat by ripping through the Denby batting order and dismissing them for 92. Grant Ball was the star, taking six wickets.

With the title already in the bag, the Millers hosted Ashover at Station Road on Sunday.

Andrew Ball, with yet another superb innings of 84, along with Nick Wright (86), Lewis Pinder (44) and Daniel Pheasant (44) gave the Millers a total of 318.

After tea, the bowling attack of Bacon (2-28), Walker (3-28) and Grant Ball (4-9) was too much for Ashover as they plummeted to 133 all out.

After the game, Chris Wright from league sponsors CN Wright Butchers presented Andrew Ball with the Division 5N trophy to crown them champions.