Munn strikes to send Eastwood through

Brad Munn
Brad Munn

Loughborough Dynamo 0 Eastwood Town 1

Substitute Brad Munn struck the winner 19 minutes from time to send Eastwood through to the first qualifying round and pocket the Badgers nearly £2,000 in the process.

The victory sets up a clash at Gresley FC in the next round on September 14, the Derbyshire side having beaten Eastwood’s former FA Cup third round opponents Kettering Town 2-0.

This tie was far from being a classic but Eastwood’s resolve in defence will have been welcomed by joint-managers Chris Shaw and Nick Hawkins, this having been just the second clean sheet they have secured all season.

The home side had the better of the first-half and thought they had taken the lead 18 minutes in when former Quorn striker Kris Nurse had the ball in the net, only to be ruled offside.

Ten minutes later, a Loughborough corner wasn’t cleared by the Badgers defence and when Ryan Tinsley got a shot in his effort was just wide of Alex Malong’s goal.

The Badgers finally got going in the latter stages of the half, and when full-back Tyrone Burton found himself free inside the penalty area his ball across goal couldn’t find a green shirt.

Moments later Kieran Wells, who has started the season in good goalscoring form, broke clear but could only get in a shot that was blocked before keeper Laurie Pearson took possession.

Malong hadn’t been tested too often but had to be alert to deny Nathan kelly on 41 minutes after a mazy run, while at the other end Tris Whitman brought Pearson into action again as the keeper saved the striker’s shot with his leg.

The second-half saw chances few and far between until Munn struck on 71 minutes, firing in a fine effort after the ball had bounced around the Dynamo penalty area.

The lead, however, was a narrow one and Dynamo had opportunities to force a replay, Malong called into action twice from Loughborough attacks to thwart the home side.

But the damage had been done and a tough-looking challenge was successfully dealt with by the Badgers who could be very satisfied with their afternoon’s work.

Loughborough: 1 Laurie Pearson 2 Joe Pheasant 3 Dan Marshall 4 Carl Sibson 5 Jake Betts 6 Martin Bowles (Dean Gent) 7 Rob Norris 8 yan Tinsley 9 Kris Nurse 10 Nathan Kelly (Bruno Holden) 11 Reece Lester (Matt Langham) Subs not used: Tyrone Kirk, Kahil Mann-Kelk

Eastwood: 1 Alex Malong 2 Tyrone Burton 3 Paul Riley 4 Gav Hurren (c) 5 Sam Craven 6 Russell Peel (Ben Gowing) 7 Ash Robinson 8 Liam Garner 9 Kieran Wells Brad Munn) 10 Tris Whitman 11 Greg Simmons (Jevon Seaton). Subs not used: Chris Shaw, Josh Raven

Att: 130

Ref: E Smart