Kimberley swimmers claim JC Dobb Trophy

Saturday night saw Kimberley Swimming Club members compete in the autumn competition of the JC Dobb Memorial Trophy.

On the night, Kimberley came second place, although overall they won the trophy.

First places went to Callum Williamson, Eve McGrenaghan, Gemma Calder, Katie Horner, Jade Duffy, Tyler Meads, as well as the three relay teams of Will Moore, Matthew Fearn, Thomas Reeves and Alex Cooke; Dan Knowles, Jack Brown, Gemma Calder and Lauren Wright; Ellie Knowles, Florence Orme, Matthew Fearn and Aiden Williamson.

Special mentions go to Heidi Fletcher-Smith and Maisie Woolis on their first gala for the club and to Callum Williamson, Will Moore, Katie Horner, Tyler Meads, Matthew Fearn, Nathan Venn, Olivia Buxton, Joseph Banner, Heidi Fletcher-Smith, Florence Orme (2), Maisie Woolis (2) and Alex Cooke (2) on achieving personal bests.

Kimberley’s Charly Neilson, Mollie Wright and Ben Barsby will be competing in the Regional Championships this weekend.

Meanwhile, several members of the club attended the Broxtowe Sports Awards on Sunday night.

Emily Anthony, who not only swims for Kimberley SC but also Nova Centurion, was named Disabled Sportsperson of the Year (see page 38) in recognition of all her hours swimming and medal achievements in the Regional Disability Championships.

Other nominations wentto Mathew Shipley (Young Sports Person of the Year), Amiee Cheese (Young Volunteer of the Year), Rebecca Barsby (Volunteer of the Year), the KSC Diddy Squad (Team of the Year) and the KSC under 10s relay team (Team of the Year), all of whom received certificates in recognition of their achievements and dedication to the club.