Larkfields swimmers are county champions

Larkfields School are county champions. Words and photo by Peter Jordan.
Larkfields School are county champions. Words and photo by Peter Jordan.

Swimmers representing Nuthall’s Larkfields Junior School have made quite a splash by winning back to back competitons in a prestigious double success that has earned them cups, trophies and medals.

Larkfields’ squad of 18 pupils first made their marks by winning the Eastwood and District Large Schools championships in a competition at Kimberley Leisure Centre.

That success propelled Larkfields into the county finals at Hucknall Leisure Centre where against the odds and opposition from 11 other schools across Nottinghamshire, the talented Nuthall contingent emerged as worthy winners.

Success in the Eastwood and District Large Schools Gala saw Larkfields complete a remarkable milestone as it is the tenth year in succession that they have won the memorial trophy which was first presented in memory of legendary Nuthall swimming teacher Eileen Ashcroft.

Other schools taking part in the Eastwood and District Gala were Priory Catholic Academy, Gilthill, Mornington, Greasley Beauvale and Bagthorpe.

Larkfields Juniors’ double winning squad was made up of Annaleise Howell, Caitlin Smith, Ella Maher, Callum Crossman, Josh Wakelin, Daniel Hodgson, Livia Kingsland, Maddison Devenu, Amy Sheldon, Cormac Maher, Finley Bunhejee, Jamie Muir, Harry Stevenson, Isla Shaw, Evie Wharton, Harriett Wardle, Archie Stevenson and Kian Bunhejee.

Headteacher Pete Taylor said; “The swimmers are great ambassadors for Nuthall and for schools across the county.

“Teamwork, regular practice and determination to succeed have been the admirable ingredients which have reaped due rewards.”