Swimmers produce fine display to claim Diddy title

Pictured are the Kimberley Swimmming Club squad.
Pictured are the Kimberley Swimmming Club squad.
Share this article

Kimberley swimmers produced a storming display to take the Leicester Diddy League title on Saturday - despite starting the day in fourth place.

All the swimmers swam superbly, leading the gala from event number nine onwards.

With 16 first place swims as well as 11 second places, Kimberley took the championship trophy for the first time after three galas, finishing with 211 points ahead of Leicester Penguins (187), Swadlincote (170), Kettering (160) , Melton Mowbray (144), Loughborough (131)

First places on the night went to Jimi Knowles, Matthew Shipley, Joseph Kingsland and Ted Goonan-Dunne.

Also winners were the relay teams of Lily Orme, Jessica Shephard, Imogen Spouge and Lauren Shipley (9yr free); Jessica Shephard, Chloe Cheetham, Erin Dixon and Lauren Shipley (9yr medley); Katie Walker, Eve Mcgrenaghan, Emily Bettridge, Eleanor Aboutorab (10yr medley relay); Dylan Wharton, Joseph Kingsland, Jimi Knowles and Bradley Francis (10/u medley and free); Joseph Kingsland, Jimi Knowles, Bradley Francis and Matthew Shipley (11/u free); Lauren Shipley, Will Moore, Anya Deegan, Joseph Kingsland, Tanishia Howell, Matthew Shipley, Charly Pink and Josh Shipman (8x25m Breast); Josh Skinner, Joseph Kingsland, Matthew Shipley and Jimi Knowles (11/u medley) and a brilliant cannon swim from Imogen Spouge, Ted Goonan-Dunne, Abbey Close, Jimi Knowles, Chloe Bis, Matthew Shipley, Katie Horner and Aiden Williamson to win by over half a length.

 Over all three rounds the girls 9yr relay teams made up of Chloe Cheetham, Jessica Shephard, Lauren Shipley, Lilly Orme, Imogen Spouge and Erin Dixon remained unbeaten in both the free and medley relays, as did the boys 10/u team of Dylan Wharton, Bradley Francis, Joseph Kingsland and Jimi Knowles and the mixed 9-12yr  8x25m breaststroke team, Lauren Shipley, Will Moore, Alex Cooke, Anya Deegan, Joseph Kingsland, Tanishia Howell, Bradley Francis, Matthew Shipley, Katie Horner, Charly Pink and Josh Shipman.

Individually Jimi Knowles and Joseph Kingsland remained unbeaten over the three rounds.